top of page
photo_2020-06-13_18-28-26.jpg

Welcome, bookworms!

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2

review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (that sounds so awkard lmao)

Updated: Jun 14, 2020

Throne of Glass is a cheap beginning to an amazing series. I didn't like many, many things. So, shall we begin?

The MC. Oh, sweet eternity, Celaena Sardothien is one hell of an annoying, spoiled, cruel and distasteful thing. Her lines are mostly cringy (or cringey, is it?) and overdramatised, and let me tell you, after being in a labor camp for one year, she is... well, untouched by the trauma would be a fitting description of it. I could go on and on and rant about it, but this is a review of a book, not a tirade about Her Greatness.

The writing. The only words I can use are cringey and mediocre. Sorry not sorry.

The love triangle. I. HATE. THOSE. That's it.

The worldbuilding. Too fairy-taile-y in my opinion. There's a prince, there's a bad king, there's a castle. Too much trying without results.

So why did I give Throne of Glass two stars, not one?? BECAUSE IT KEPT ME ON THE EDGE OF MY SEAT FOR THE ENTIRETY OF ITS HURTFUL LENGTH. AND THEN IT LEFT ME CRAVING MORE.

Do I regret not dnf-ing the book, or this series? HELL NO. You just have to get through the first two books, the third is fairly readable, and then FINALLY we get what we've been waiting for. You're welcome for not making the biggest mistake of your life and judging a series based on 29% of its content.

About me

FullSizeRender.jpg

I'm an extroverted violinist obsessed with books. And a (large) bunch of fictional characters, shows, films, long-dead classical music composers and fictional couples. Also, English isn't my native language, so I may slip sometimes, sorry for that!

Home: About
Home: Subscribe

My Goodreads shelf!

Check out what I've read recently!

Home: HTML Embed

We live and breathe words. It was books that kept me from taking my own life after I thought I could never love anyone, never be loved again. It was books that made me feel that perhaps I was not completely alone. They could be honest with me, and I with them.

Theresa Gray in Clockwork Prince

Home: Quote
Home: Contact
bottom of page